Baby Hummingbird photos for June 2 & 3

The young humming bird was sitting up on the edge of the nest today. I think she’ll be flying soon. Of course, when I try to get close with my camera, she hunkers down into the nest and I miss the perfect shot. Here’s what I did get…

June 2, 2008

June 3, 2008

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Baby Hummingbird photos for June 2 & 3”

  1. bookbabie Says:

    Oh, how sweet! We had finches on our front door wreath last year, it was so fun to watch the babies grow up.

  2. Suna Wilkerson Says:

    What has the outcome been? What kind of hummingbird is it? Did it fly away yet?

    • Chris Says:

      The baby hummingbird grew up. It flew around with the mom for a week or so and then off it went. We never thought to identify the type of hummingbird. We’ll do that if we see another nest.

      This year we have what I think is a finch nest. It’s about 5 inches long and tucked up into a vine off the front patio. We can’t see the babies but they chirp a lot when the parents are around. They are so loud that a local cat hangs out near the vine a lot. My sons chase it away with Nerf guns when they see it.

  3. sunawilkerson Says:

    You know you can consider getting a cat bib for the cat if you know the owner. They don’t bother the cat and they protect birds. I’m glad to hear the happy ending for the humming bird, and I love finches! You are so lucky to have these birds nest in your yard! What kind of finch is it? I’m a bird watcher, so I’m rather big on identification xD.
    Here is a link to cat bibs:
    http://www.catgoods.com

Leave a Reply

